Frank Ocean is one of the golden boys in music at the moment, reflected most obviously by the rate at which all of the tickets were snapped up for his first solo tour sold out especially his only London show which sold out in around 18 minutes. I missed the trick on that one but managed to see his rescheduled New York last weekend which took place at the intimate Bowery Ballroom in Lower Manhattan.
After reading mixed reviews about the London show, some criticising his lack of interaction with the audience and the absence of a live band or dj I was anticipating the night but confident that Franko wouldn’t disappoint.

As modest as they come Frank slipped into the venue using the front door and shortly took to the stage in a black suit crisp blazer and trousers, crisp white shirt and a red and white bandana tied around his head Rambo style. No introduction needed and an unlikely start to the show was his version of Sade “By Your Side” which had the females in the audience appreciating his signature use of the falsetto. Setting the scene to the inspiration behind the track and commencing with the ballad, originally penned for Roc signing Bridget Kelly “Thinking About You” Frank performed a string of tracks from his already hefty musical catalogue with passion. When he spoke in between tracks he seemed nervous but sang with conviction when it was time to switch it back on. In fact, the lack of a band or DJ was irrelevant and instead Frank chose to have a backdrop of specifically chosen clips of footage on rotation on the big screen behind him to illustrate the message behind each individual song, giving us a glimpse into how important visuals are to him. If you’re familiar with Frank’s music videos so far, its clear that they’re an important tool in expressing himself.

As well as a medley of his tracks featured on the WTT project, of all of the picks from his solo previous and current offerings Frank chose to showcase the tracks with sentiment, introducing the track “Dust” and describing the inspiration behind it as ‘a romance with days you’ll never get back, times that were beautiful’, performing that and “Acura Integurl” back to back again with the visuals for the latter track rolling in the background. Debuting forthcoming material, Frank teased us with a taste of what is to come, with tracks entitled “Super Rich Kids” where he proclaims ‘the maid comes around too much, parents aint around enough’ and “Disillusioned”. Even Frank running of stage to get his tea didn’t alter the atmosphere that he’d set ending the night with “We All Try” and his encore as him playing the piano belting out I Miss You, the song he penned for Beyonce’s most recent album 4.

In my opinion Frank is special and will continue to make soulful music he loves but doesn’t seem to realise how good it actually is. His live show might not be as polished or as much of a spectacle as other performers around at the moment but when he sings he’s enough to watch. Having said that, him playing guitar hero to end “American Wedding” was definitely a sight to behold.

Rapper and singer Kevin McCall, better known for his feature on Chris Brown’s “Deuces” has dropped this brand new track entitled “Goodbye”.

We’re not sure if this song will feature on an upcoming album or is just a street track but we’ll keep you posted when we find out. Until then, enjoy.

Kevin McCall – “Goodbye”

“should i stay and be content/or should i look for the girl of my dreams?”


Posted by Michelle

SoulCulture TV presents a new series called The Co-Sign linking up talented artists starting with the man of the moment North London rapper Wretch 32 and soulful Mancunian singer Daley giving an exclusive acoustic performance of their collaboration “Long Way Home,” from Wretch 32′s brand new album Black and White out right now! We’ve always supported Daley, Ronnie first played his first track Rainy Days over 2 years ago on his 1Xtra RnB show and I’ve been a supporter of Wretch since his first album Wretchtrospective – and what a journey he’s made.

Watch their performance below.


This fresh Chris Brown track called ‘I Love Her’ has appeared online in full, after a snippet was leaked last week. It’s unclear as to whether this will appear on his forthcoming album Fortune as Chris tweeted recently “If the whole song doesn’t leak then it’s going on fortune! I have so many songs that I’ve recorded in my opinion that are siiiccccckkkk! I just really hope people appreciate the diversity on Fortune!”

Check out this heartfelt song below.

via RnBXclusive

M x

J. Cole is getting us ready for his September 27th album release of ‘Cole World: The Sideline Story’ with the 1st in the series of free downloads.

This one is called “Any Given Sunday” consisting of a collection of new music, unreleased & rare songs/freestyles.

Cole said via his website: “Every Sunday til the album drops I’ll be back with something. Maybe just 1 song, maybe a video, depending on how I’m feeling.

September 27! We almost there. Until then…”

1. “Like A Star” – Was saving this for the 2nd album. Due to some other shit beyond my control, I’ma let this out now.

2. “Knock On Wood”- One of my fav. freestyles. OG Dreamvillains gotta be reminded, new fans gotta get put on.

3. “Pity”- Brand new J. Cole, Omen, Voli. Produced by Voli @volitheentity

4. “How High”- at one point this was guaranteed to go on The Sideline Story.

5. “Unabomber”- Just heard this today for the first time in a longgg time. Love these raps.

Click HERE for download!

Roc Nation singer Bridget Kelly who sang Alicia’s chorus and hook on tour with Jay Z on “Empire State of Mind” is back with this track called “Thinking About You”. A version popped up online sung by Odd Future’s Frank Ocean, who wrote the track and here is the official final version by Bridget which was premiered by Jay.

Bridget Kelly – “Thinking About Forever” (Written by Frank Ocean)

Michelle x

This weeks Music Monday by RnB vocal group Legaci, features Bluey Robinson who have covered Boyz II Men, End Of The Road. The jam session was shot in Milan, Italy.

Legaci are currently working as the background vocalists on the Justin Bieber My World International Tour, where Bluey has been one of the opening acts along with Willow Smith.

I love me some vocal harmony. Enjoy! Mx